Opera Scotland


Tours by decade

Tours by location

Richard Strauss (born Munich, 11 June 1864; died Garmisch, 8 September 1949)

Clemens Krauss and the Composer.


First performance: Munich (Nationaltheater), 28 October 1942.
First UK performance: London (Royal Opera House), 22 September 1953.
First performance in Scotland: Glasgow (Theatre Royal), 9 January 1985.
Scottish Opera première: As above.

Capriccio is the result of collaboration between the elderly composer and Krauss, a friend of long standing. Krauss was also one of the best conductors of his music, and whose wife, the soprano Viorica Ursuleac, created the leading role.

The final opera composed by Strauss, Capriccio is sometimes described as a conversation piece on the subject of the art of opera itself. It can perhaps be criticised as a rarefied debate of interest only to existing enthusiasts. However it may also be enjoyed simply as the illustration of a pleasant social event.

The piece is composed for performance right through, though sometimes an interval is inserted.

Main Characters
Flamand, a composer (tenor)
Olivier, a poet and playwright (baritone)
La Roche, a theatre director (bass)
The Countess Madeleine (soprano)
The Count, her brother (baritone)
Clairon, an actress (mezzo-soprano)
An Italian tenor (tenor)
An Italian soprano (soprano)
Two dancers (silent)
Monsieur Taupe, a prompter (tenor)
The major-domo (spoken)

Plot Summary
The setting is a country house near Paris in the 1770s, where a number of people have gathered to celebrate the birthday of Madeleine, a wealthy young widow.

A musician and writer are commissioned to produce an entertainment for the evening, but they are both in love with her, so their rivalry develops into a competition between the relative importance of words and music.

The debate is assisted by La Roche, a theatre director, who insists that the taste of the public must be catered for. The Countess and her brother think that admiration for the artist can influence love of the art, and the Count is certainly very taken with the actress Clairon, who arrives to take part in Olivier’s play.

La Roche also introduces two singers and two dancers who will take part in the entertainment. Olivier recites his sonnet to the Countess, clearly a declaration of love, and Flamand sets the piece to music, also revealing his love for Madeleine. No one thinks much of the suggestions La Roche makes for the entertainment, and Madeleine proposes that collaboration is necessary. All leave for Paris except the Countess, (the Count escorting Clairon). Flamand and Olivier will return the next morning to hear Madeleine’s verdict.

At the end, the Countess is left alone as the sun sets before dinner, pondering the outcome, and apparently not coming to a conclusion, though the wonderful orchestra seems to clarify matters.

The Cast

 an actress
 Madeleine's brother
Countess Madeleine
Dancer 1
Dancer 2
Eighth Servant
Fifth Servant
First Servant
 a composer
Fourth Servant
Italian soprano
Italian tenor
La Roche
 a theatre director
Monsieur Taupe
 a prompter
 a poet and playwright
Second Dancer
Second Servant
Seventh Servant
Sixth Servant
Third Servant

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha