Opera Scotland

Seven Angels

Tours by decade

Tours by location

Seven Angels interprets the themes of John Milton's masterpiece Paradiss Lost for a modern audience facing up to the urgent challenges of a changing climate and ever-depleting resources.

This is the long awaited first opera from Luke Bedford. Written for seven singers and a live chamber orchestra, Luke Bedford's music is dark but seductive, tense but lyrical amd integrates both solo voices and choral textues.

Seven Angels was co-commissioned by Birmingham Contemporary Music Group and The Opera Group with Funds generously provided by the John Feeney Charitable Trust. The opera was developed with the support of a Jerwood Opera fellowship at Aldeburgh Music and the Columbia Foundation.

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha