Opera Scotland

Jonathan Dove Suggest updates

Born London, 18 July 1959.

English composer and arranger

Jonathan Dove is one of the most successful opera composers of recent years, with several successful community projects to his credit.  His parents were both architects and he learned to play piano, organ and viola.  He studied composition at Cambridge under Robin Holloway.

His comic opera Flight (1998) has been performed widely around the world in over 30 productions.  He has also made highly-regarded chamber-sized arrangements of several works by other composers, most notably in 1990 a reduction of Wagner's Ring to span two evenings with an orchestra of 18 for City of Birmingham Touring Opera.

He was Artistic Director of the Spitalfields Festival 2001-06.

Operas performed in Scotland appear in bold, with links at bottom of the page:

01   Hastings Spring (Community Opera 1990) ()

02   Siren Song (1994) ()

03   Flight (Glyndebourne 1998) (De Angelis)

04   Tobias and the Angel (Perry Beeches 1998) (Lan)

05   The Palace in the Sky (Community Opera 2000) ()

06   L'altra Euridice (2002) ()

07   When She Died - Death of a Princess (Television 2002) ()

08   Man in the Moon (Televisin 2006) ()

09   The Enchanted Pig (London 2006) (Middleton)

10   Hear Our Voice (with Matthew King) (Community Opera 2006) (Sefton-Green)

11   The Adventures of Pinocchio (Leeds 2007) (Middleton)

12   Swanhunter (Leeds 2009) (Middleton)

13   Mansfield Park (Boughton 2011) (Middleton)

14   Life is a Dream (Birmingham 2012) (Middleton)

15   The Day After  (Utrecht 2015) (De Angelis)

16   The Monster in the Maze (2015) ()

17   Marx in London! (Bonn 2018, rev Glasgow 2024) (J Weber, rev Hart)

18   Itch (2023) ()

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha