Opera Scotland

Kurt Weill Suggest updates

Born Dessau, 2 March 1900.

Died New York, 3 April 1950.

German composer.

Kurt Weill's reputation rested for many years on some of the early works produced during his years collaborating with Bertolt Brecht - especially The Threepenny Opera, Mahagonny and Seven Deadly Sins. These were generally assessed less on the stature of Weill's music than on the contribution of Brecht, which was as vehemently disliked by some as it was loved by others. Weill's later works, composed after his arrival in America, especially Lady in the Dark and Street Scene, have recently become better known, and opinions of Weill's quality have changed. Some of his earliest pieces have also now seen the light of day.

Works performed in Scotland are show in bold:-

01   Der Protagonist (Dresden 1925) (Kaiser)

02   Royal Palace (Berlin 1927) (Goll)

03   Der Zar lässt sich photographieren (Leipzig 1928) (Kaiser)

04   Die Dreigroschenoper (Berlin 1928) (Brecht)

05   Happy End (Berlin 1929) (Brecht; Hauptmann)

06   Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny (Berlin 1930) (Brecht)

07   Der Jasager (Berlin 1930) (Brecht)

08   Die Bürgschaft (Berlin 1932) (Neher & cpsr)

09   Der Silbersee - Ein Wintermarchen (Leipzig, Magdeburg & Erfurt 1932) (Kaiser)

10   Die sieben Todsünden der Kleinburger (Paris 1933) (Brecht)

11   Der Kühhandel - Arms and the Cow (1934; prod Dessau 2000) (Vambery)

12   Johnny Johnson (New York 1936) (Green)

13   The Eternal Road (1934-5; prod New York 1937) (Werfel, trans Lewisohn)

14   Knickerbocker Holiday (New York 1938) (Anderson)

15   Lady in the Dark (New York 1942) (M Hart; I Gershwin)

16   One Touch of Venus (New York 1943) (Perelman & Nash; Nash)

17   The Firebrand of Florence (New York 1945) (Mayer; I Gershwin)

18   Street Scene (New York 1947) (Rice; Hughes)                                                                 

19   Down in the Valley (Bloomington 1948) (Sundgaard)

20   Love Life (New York 1948) (Lerner)

21   Lost in the Stars (New York 1949) (Anderson)

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha