Opera Scotland

Cynthia Buchan Suggest updates

Born Edinburgh, 1 July 1949.

Scottish mezzo-soprano.

Cynthia Buchan studied in Glasgow at the Royal Scottish Academy and in Vienna with a Richard Tauber scholarship.  Her Scottish Opera debut, while still a student, was at the 1968 Edinburgh Festival Fringe, singing the final solo in Monteverdi's Ballo delle ingrate.

With Scottish Opera she went on to sing a range of roles including Mozart (Cherubino, Second Lady); Tchaikovsky (Olga); J Strauss (Orlofsky);  Massenet (Charlotte);  Humperdinck (Hansel); R Strauss (Annina);  Janáček (Varvara)  and Britten (Hermia). Having directed a student production of Carmen at RSAMD, she later directed Scottish Opera's small-scale tour of Don Pasquale.

She appeared at the 1973 York Festival as a member of the Wexford company, singing Varvara in David Pountney's first production of Kátya Kabanová, which was sung in Czech.

Roles at Glyndebourne included Mozart (Cherubino, Dorabella) and Tchaikovsky (Olga). With ENO she also sang Mozart (Dorabella) as well as Rossini (Pippo The Thieving Magpie).  Her roles at Covent Garden included Bersi in the 1985 production of Andrea Chénier, which has appeared on DVD.

She sang L'Enfant (Ravel) in concerts with the SNO in 1975 and later at the 1979 Proms.

Performances on the continent included Rosina in Paris, Dorabella in Brussels, Toulouse and Bordeaux, Cherubino in Frankfurt, and L'Enfant in Munich and Madrid.

Sources: Various programmes.

Roles in Scotland

Un' ingrata One of the cruel ladies
Ballo delle ingrate 1968
Enfant et les sortilèges 1975
Second Lady in attendance on the Queen
Zauberflöte 1976
Cherubino the Count's page
Nozze di Figaro 1977
Nozze di Figaro 1980
Annina Valzacchi's accomplice
Rosenkavalier 1978
Hansel and Gretel 1978
Varvara foster-child in the Kabanov household
Kátya Kabanová 1979
Orlofsky a rich young Russian prince
Fledermaus 1979
Olga Larina's younger daughter
Eugene Onegin 1979
Hermia in love with Lysander
Midsummer Night's Dream 1979
Midsummer Night's Dream 1980
Charlotte the magistrate's eldest child
Werther 1983
Don Pasquale 1999
Carmen 1999
Rape of Lucretia 2001

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha