Opera Scotland

Louise Winter Suggest updates

Born Lancashire, 29 November 1959.

English mezzo-soprano.

Louise Winter studied at the RNCM in Manchester. Early operatic work included several appearances on the Glyndebourne Tour, as Dorabella, Tisbe, Zerlina and Rosina. At the Glyndebourne Festival she sang Sesto and Pauline (The Queen of Spades). Her Covent Garden debut was as Olga in Eugene Onegin, and with ENO she  performed Carmen and Marguerite in The Damnation of Faust.

She was also a regular visitor to the Frankfurt Opera, singing roles such as Preziosilla and Lady Macbeth (in the version of Macbeth by Ernest Bloch). Her Wagner roles there included Brangäne and Venus.

Her concert career included appearances with most of the British orchestras - the CBSO with Rattle, BBC SO with Andrew Davis, the Hallé under Elder and the Philharmonia with Mackerras. Her repertoire includes Beethoven's Ninth Symphony and the Requiems of Mozart and Verdi. In Scotland she sang with the RSNO, being particularly noted for her Mahler performances, including Das Lied von der Erde with Lazarev (1999) and the Rückert Lieder with Gansch (2004).

Roles in Scotland

Alisa Ailsa, Lucy's companion
Lucia di Lammermoor 1997
Judith Bluebeard's new wife
Duke Bluebeard's Castle 1997
Lied von der Erde 1999
Wife Doreen; Waitress 1; Sphinx 2
Greek 2011
Susan Wheeler
In the Locked Room 2012
Quickly Mistress Quickly, a confidante of Alice and Meg
Falstaff 2021
Frugola Talpa's wife, aged fifty
Tabarro 2023
Zita a cousin of Buoso, aged sixty
Gianni Schicchi 2023

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha