Opera Scotland

Midsummer Night's Dream 1961Covent Garden Opera

Read more about the opera Midsummer Night's Dream

Shortly after its Aldeburgh premiere, A Midsummer Night's Dream entered the repertoire at Covent Garden in a new staging by Sir John Gielgud, and it was an obvious candidate for the company to bring to Edinburgh the following summer.

Performance Cast

Tytania Queen of the Fairies

Joan Carlyle

Oberon King of the Fairies

Russell Oberlin

Lysander in love with Hermia

John Dobson

Hermia in love with Lysander

Janet Coster

Demetrius in love with Hermia

Peter Glossop

Helena in love with Demetrius

Irene Salemka

Peter Quince a carpenter

Michael Langdon

Snug a joiner

David Kelly

Robin Starveling a tailor

Joseph Ward

Francis Flute a bellows-mender

Kenneth Macdonald

Tom Snout a tinker

John Lanigan

Nick Bottom a weaver

Geraint Evans

Hippolyta Queen of the Amazons

Margreta Elkins

Noreen Berry

Performance DatesMidsummer Night's Dream 1961

Map List

King's Theatre, Edinburgh | Edinburgh

22 Aug, 19.30 24 Aug, 19.30 29 Aug, 19.30 2 Sep, 14.30 4 Sep, 19.30

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2023

Site by SiteBuddha