Opera Scotland

Rheingold 1911Denhof Opera Company

Read more about the opera Rhinegold

Ernst Denhof's company had been remarkably successful in performing its first Ring cycle at Edinburgh in 1910. The following year the company began to tour, and gave Glasgow audiences their first cycle.

The following season, conductor Michael Balling would succeed Hans Richter as conductor of the Hallé Orchestra in Manchester. He already worked regularly at Bayreuth, having conducted the 1909 Ring there.

Performance specifications include an orchestra of 82 performers, mainly members of the Scottish Orchestra, augmented by some members of the Covent Garden Orchestra. The leader was Frederic Siegl.

For Twilight of the Gods, the chorus of 60 were gentlemen of the Edinburgh Choral Union and Kirkhope's Choir (in Glasgow) and Leeds Choral Union (in Manchester). Both were supplemented by (silent) ladies from the International School of Opera, London.


Cast details are taken from a copy of the Prospectus in Dundee City Library, confirmed by a copy of the Glasgow programme in Mitchell Library and Manchester advertising poster in Manchester City Library.

Illustrations are from sketches in the Glasgow News April 12.

Performance Cast

Woglinde a Rhinemaiden

Alice Prowse

Wellgunde a Rhinemaiden

Lilian Coomber

Flosshilde a Rhinemaiden

Edna Thornton

Alberich a Nibelung

Charles Victor

Wotan leader of the gods

Frederic Austin

Fricka wife of Wotan and goddess of marriage

Toni Seiter

Freia sister of Fricka and goddess of love and spring

Kate Anderson

Fasolt a giant

Robert Radford

Fafner a giant

Gaston Sargeant

Froh god of joy and youth

Wilson Pembroke

Donner god of thunder

Charles Knowles

Loge god of fire and cunning

Walter Hyde

Mime a Nibelung, Alberich's brother

Sydney Russell

Erda goddess of earth and wisdom

Edna Thornton

Performance DatesRheingold 1911

Map List

Theatre Royal, Leeds | Leeds

28 Mar, 19.30

Theatre Royal, Manchester | Manchester

3 Apr, 19.30

Theatre Royal, Glasgow | Glasgow

11 Apr, 19.30

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha