Opera Scotland

Prince Ferelon or, The Princess's Suitors

Tours by decade

1920s - 1 tour

1924 - Carl Rosa Opera Company
Fully Staged with Orchestra

Tours by location


Nicholas Comyn Gatty (born Bradfield, 13 September 1874; died London,  10 November 1946)





First Professional Performance: London (Old Vic), 21 May 1921.

First Performance in Scotland: Glasgow (Theatre Royal), 21 March 1924.



Gatty's fourth opera was described as a musical extravaganza in one act, first performed by the Florence Ettlinger Opera School on 27 November 1919. It was later revived twice by the Royal College of Music, on 10 December 1930 and 1 June 1933.

His previous three operas were Greysteel (1906), Duke or Devil (1909) and The Tempest (1920).


Main Characters

Prince Ferelon (bass)

King (baritone)

Princess (soprano)


Plot Summary

 The story deals with a princess who was so hard to please in the matter of suitors that her father, the king, decided to leave the choice to the Court.  The three suitors, however, are one and the same person - Prince Ferelon - and failing to win approval by the presentation of gorgeous dresses, music, and dancing, he is finally successful as a wandering musician.

The Cast

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha