Opera Scotland

Richard Strauss Suggest updates

Richard Georg Strauss.

Born Munich, 11 June 1864.

Died Garmisch-Partenkirchen, 8 September 1949.

German composer.

Richard Strauss was a renowned conductor as well as being the most successful German composer of his generation. While his later operas largely dropped from the repertoire after his death, three of the early ones - the shockingly modern Salome and Elektra, and the wonderfully humane comedy Der Rosenkavalier, became instant classics of tremendous popularity. More recently several of his other works such as Ariadne, Die Frau ohne Schatten, Arabella and Capriccio have found enthusiastic audiences, while others await wide recognition, even if they are generally successful in performance.

Operas performed in Scotland are shown in bold (with links below):-

01   Guntram (Weimar 1894, rev 1940) (cpsr)

02   Feuersnot (Dresden 1901) (von Wolzogen)

03   Salome (Dresden 1905) (Lachmann)

04   Elektra (Dresden 1909) (von Hofmannsthal)                                                                    

05   Der Rosenkavalier (Dresden 1911) (von Hofmannsthal)

06   Ariadne auf Naxos (Stuttgart 1912, rev Vienna 1916) (von Hofmannsthal)

07   Die Frau ohne Schatten (Vienna 1917) (von Hofmannsthal)

08   Intermezzo (Dresden 1924) (cpsr)                                                                          

09   Die ägyptische Helena (Dresden 1928, rev Salzburg 1933) (von Hofmannsthal)

10   Arabella (Dresden 1933) (von Hofmannsthal)                                                          

11   Die schweigsame Frau (Dresden 1935) (Zweig)

12   Friedenstag (Munich 1938) (Gregor)

13   Daphne (Dresden 1938) (Gregor)

14   Die Liebe der Danaë (1940; prod Salzburg 1952) (Gregor)

15   Capriccio (Munich 1942) (Krauss & cpsr)

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha