Opera Scotland

Carmina Burana 1980Edinburgh International Festival

Read more about the opera Carmina Burana

The London Symphony Orchestra scheduled visit to the 1980 Edinburgh Festival consisted of two concerts to be conducted by André Previn. Unfortunately he was ill and replaced by John Pritchard, who was already in town with his Cologne Opera.

The first part of the concert was originally intended to be entirely Aaron Copland - Quiet City and then his Clarinet Concerto, with Richard Stolzman as soloist. When Pritchard came in, Quiet City was dropped, to be replaced by Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings, in celebration of Barber's seventieth birthday.

Performance DatesCarmina Burana 1980

Map List

Usher Hall | Edinburgh

2 Sep, 20.00

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha