Opera Scotland

Magnificat in D 2016Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Read more about the opera Magnificat in D

Bach's Magnificat in D must be one of the most joyful works in the repertoire.   Perhaps it is a pity that it lasts only a half hour, thus making the choice of works to accompany it a challenge.   Here the first part of the evening is certainly an interesting one.   The concert began with more Bach - the Overture from his third Suite for orchestra.   This was followed by two Mendelssohn works.  These were the Fifth Symphony, known as the 'Reformation' and a prayer for peace Verleih uns Frieden.

Cast details are taken from the  2015/16 season brochure for Glasgow.  Other performances also required.

Performance DatesMagnificat in D 2016

Map List

City Halls, Glasgow | Glasgow

29 Apr, 19.30

© Copyright Opera Scotland 2024

Site by SiteBuddha